City Council

Chester City Council represents the interests of their constituents by responding to inquiries, suggestions, and complaints regarding City programs and services. They govern through legislative, administrative, and financial powers and have the ability to levy taxes, enact resolutions, and exercise budgetary and policy control over city departments. Council Members are elected members.

Chester City Council meets on the first and third Monday of the month at 5:00 p.m. and may hold additional meetings and all are open to the public.

To request City Council or Committee meeting schedules, wards, or any related information, please contact the City Clerk’s office at (304) 387-2820.

Mayor - Larry Forsythe

Phone: (304) 670-0356

City Clerk – Marlene Fleming


304-387-2820 (Ext 104)


Solicitor – April Manypenny Raines

Phone: (304) 387-9898

Ward 1 – Brad Anderson

Phone: (304) 374-6197

Ward 2 – John Woodruff

Phone: (304) 459-3692

Ward 3 – Michael Dotson, Sr.

Phone: (304) 670-9296

Ward 4 – Ed Beaumont

contact me at the number or email below.

Phone: (304) 459-3140

Ward 5 – Steve Shuman

Phone: (304) 670-9298

Please reload